Political and Administrative Structure

Buyende District comprises of the following Local Governments and Administrative units.


Sub Counties

Town Councils



Budiope East


01 Town Council



Budiope West


 03 Town Council









The Policy Making Organ

The District is chaired by a District Chairperson and in this case the District Political Head and on the Technical side, Chief Administrative Officer Heads the Technical Staff who also is responsible and accountable to all finances of the District and referred to as the Accounting Officer.

The Resident District Commissioner (RDC) overseas the activities of the District, Security and reports directly to the President

Sectoral Committees

There are two sectoral Committees and these include

  • Finance and Administration and 
  • Social Services Committee

Statutory Bodies There are also statutory bodies, which are mandated by law to carry out specific roles and responsibilities to ensure effective and efficient service delivery. These include:

  • District Contracts Committee
  • District Public Accounts Committee
  • District Service Commission
  • District Land Board

A Contracts Committee comprising of appointed Technical Officers replaced the District Tender Board according to the Local Governments Amendment Act 2006.

Lower Local Governments
The Sub counties, Parishes/Wards and villages/Cells have councils and executive committees, which coordinate the various functions.